Josef Pichlmayr

CEO

Get started!

Joe Pichlmayr, CEO at IKARUS Security Software, about vision, chances and corporate social responsibility.

Joe Pichlmayr

When Joe Pichlmayr joined IKARUS in 1993, the history of computers and computer viruses was still in its infancy. Due to the seemingly never-ending stream of new viruses and attacks, curiosity and the urge to research soon turned into the need and concern to create a general awareness of IT security. Preventive, even protective knowledge should be accessible to everyone. Everyone who owns and uses a PC should be aware of the dangers associated with its use – and at the same time have the opportunity to navigate the net with their infrastructures in a SECURE way. For this purpose, it is essential to know and internalize some security principles and to use preventive measures and effective protection mechanisms. Nobody should be blindly and helplessly at the mercy of the attacks and tricks of cyber fraudsters.

Since 2011, IKARUS CEO Joe Pichlmayr has been going one step further with the association Cyber Security Austria, the Austria Cyber Security Challenge and Digital.City Wien

It is not only about affordable IT security solutions that should be easily available and intuitive to use. But it is also about a broad awareness of the problem among all people. Highly developed attacks require highly qualified experts to defend against these attacks. Highly qualified experts need appropriate training infrastructures and incentives for young people to take the challenging journey to become cyber security experts.

“Our goal is to encourage ministries and educational institutions to take action, train teachers, sensitize parents, inform interested parties and train talented people,” says Joe Pichlmayr: “IT security urgently needs new talent and therefore an appropriate education system – also to strengthen Austria and Vienna as an ICT location and keep them competitive!”

There are many opportunities for qualified security specialists. Also with IKARUS!

What did you want to be when you were little?

Federal President or General

When and how did you discover your interest in IT and/or cyber security?

At IKARUS – and before that on the classic C64 Wintergames trip.

How did you become CEO? What training, knowledge or experience was particularly helpful?

Hmm. This happened in the course of the management buy-out in 1998/99. Primarily helpful was the courage to have the courage to know the company and to know which steps it can and cannot take, to have a great team and a huge amount of luck and naivety.

Which (professional and human) skills are particularly important in your current job?

Listening and understanding what my partners, customers and employees are concerned about and responding to what moves people! To use my opportunities to help others, whether in your office challenges or to “grow” in person – to take and encourage fears. Balance and strengthen.

What would you have liked to know about your profession earlier?

That professional excellence is an essential prerequisite, but by no means everything. Leading people and making more out of the sum of their individual components requires completely different qualifications, such as: Empathy and the ability to encourage and nurture people. At least there are always up’s and downs, and the world doesn’t have to be saved “stante pede”.

What do you like most and least about your job?

As CEO – Chief Enabling Officer – I have the privilege of representing our company and realising many other projects that have nothing to do with IKARUS. The excellent reputation of our company has not only opened many doors for me and strengthened my positions/ concerns but also contributed significantly to the realisation of many projects because IKARUS is trusted to do so.

As CEO – Chief Entertainment Officer – I like to ensure that our employees and team leaders harmonise and enjoy the challenges they face every day.

I don’t like it when employees leave us.

What is special about your role as CEO?

It is the role of the CEO of IKARUS!

What do you think are good ways to get a foothold in the IT and/or cyber security industry?

Depending on the “target area”, of course, a solid education. Otherwise, due to the prevailing shortage of skilled workers, it is already not too tricky to gain initial experience in this environment. You just shouldn’t assume that what you do and want to do will last very long or would not be subject to change.

Why should someone apply to be your new colleague?

Because it gives him the chance to find challenges in a young international team that you won’t find anywhere else in this country because we do extraordinary things, we can help people. We are at the forefront of protecting businesses and people.

Pioneering work since 1986

How it all began: Founded as a software company, a coincidence and a hobby led to the fact that IKARUS soon specialized in computer security. IKARUS anti.virus was one of the first antivirus programs worldwide, and further exciting developments and projects were to follow…

Join IKARUS!

Software Developer C++
Malware Analyst

WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO HEARING FROM YOU!

IKARUS Security Software GmbH Blechturmgasse 11
1050 Vienna

Phone: +43 (0) 1 58995-0
Sales Hotline:
+43 (0) 1 58995-500

SUPPORT HOTLINE

Support hotline:
+43 (0) 1 58995-400

Support hours:
Mon – Thu: 8am – 5pm
Fri: 8am – 3pm

Remote maintenance software:
AnyDesk Download

Josef Pichlmayr

CEO

Get started!

Joe Pichlmayr, CEO bei IKARUS Security Software, über Vision, Chancen und Corporate Social Responsibility.

Joe Pichlmayr

Als Joe Pichlmayr 1993 bei IKARUS begann, steckte die Geschichte der Computer und Computerviren noch in den Kinderschuhen. Aufgrund des scheinbar nie enden wollenden Stroms an neuen Viren und Angriffen wurden aus Neugierde und Forschungsdrang bald die Notwendigkeit und das Anliegen, ein allgemeines Bewusstsein für IT-Security zu schaffen. Vorbeugendes, ja schützendes Wissen sollte für alle zugänglich sein. Jeder, der einen PC hat und benutzt, soll um die Gefahren wissen, die mit seiner Nutzung einhergehen – und zugleich die Möglichkeit haben, SICHER mit seinen Infrastrukturen im Netz zu navigieren. Dazu ist es unabdingbar, einige Sicherheitsgrundsätze zu kennen und zu verinnerlichen sowie präventive Maßnahmen und effektive Schutzmechanismen einzusetzen. Niemand soll den Angriffen und Tricks der Cyber-Betrüger blind und hilflos ausgeliefert sein.

Seit 2011 geht IKARUS-CEO Joe Pichlmayr mit dem Verein Cyber Security Austria, der Austria Cyber Security Challenge und der Digital.City Wien einen Schritt weiter: Nicht nur sollen IT-Security-Lösungen günstig, einfach verfügbar und intuitiv anwendbar sein. Auch soll ein breites Problembewusstsein bei allen Menschen geweckt werden. Hochentwickelte Angriffe setzen hochqualifizierte Experten für die Abwehr dieser Angriffe voraus. Für hochqualifizierte Experten braucht es entsprechende Ausbildungsinfrastrukturen und Anreize für junge Menschen, die herausfordernde Reise zur Ausbildung zum Cyber Security-Experten anzunehmen.

„Unser Ziel ist es, Ministerien und Bildungseinrichtungen zum Handeln zu animieren, Lehrende zu trainieren, Eltern zu sensibilisieren, Interessierte zu informieren und Talente auszubilden“, so Joe Pichlmayr: „Die IT-Security braucht dringend Nachwuchs und dafür ein entsprechendes Bildungssystem – auch, um Österreich und Wien als IKT-Standort zu stärken und konkurrenzfähig zu halten!“

Qualifizierten Security-SpezialistInnen stehen viele Chancen offen. Auch bei IKARUS!

Was wolltest du werden, als du klein warst?

Bundespräsident oder General

Wann und wie hast du dein Interesse für IT und/oder Cyber Security entdeckt?

Bei IKARUS – und vorher schon auf dem klassischen C64 Wintergames-Trip.

Wie bist du CEO geworden? Welche Ausbildung, welches Wissen oder welche Erfahrungen waren dafür besonders hilfreich?

Hmm. Das passierte im Zuge des Management Buy-Outs 1998/99. Primär hilfreich war der Mut, sich zu trauen, das Unternehmen zu kennen und zu wissen, welche Schritte es tun kann und welche nicht, ein tolles Team zu haben sowie eine Riesenportion Glück und Naivität.

Welche (fachlichen und menschlichen) Skills sind bei deiner jetzigen Arbeit besonders wichtig?

Zuzuhören und zu verstehen, was das Anliegen meiner Partner*innen, Kund*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen ist und darauf eingehen können, was Menschen bewegt! Meine Möglichkeiten zu nutzen, um anderen zu helfen, sei es bei Ihren Herausforderungen im Büro oder auch persönlich zu „wachsen“ – Ängste zu nehmen und zu ermutigen. Auszugleichen und zu stärken.

Was hättest du über deinen Beruf gerne schon früher gewusst?

Dass fachliche Exzellenz eine wichtige Voraussetzung, aber bei Weitem nicht alles ist. Menschen zu führen und aus der Summe ihrer einzelnen Bestandteile mehr zu machen, braucht ganz andere Qualifikationen wie zB. Empathie und die Fähigkeit, Menschen zu ermutigen und sie zu fördern. Und dass es immer Up´s and Downs gibt und die Welt nicht „stante pede“ gerettet werden muss.

Was gefällt dir an deiner Aufgabe am besten und was am wenigsten?

Als CEO – Chief Enabling Officer – darf ich das Privileg genießen, nicht nur unser Haus nach außen zu vertreten, sondern darf zudem auch viele andere Projekte, die unmittelbar gar nichts mit IKARUS zu tun haben, realisieren. Der gute Ruf unseres Hauses hat mir dabei nicht nur viele Türen geöffnet und meine Positionen und Anliegen gestärkt, sondern auch maßgeblich dazu beitragen, dass viele Projekte realisiert werden konnten und können, weil man das der IKARUS einfach zutraut.

Als CEO – Chief Entertainment Officer – gefällt es mir, darauf achten zu dürfen, dass unsere Mitarbeiter*innen und Team Leads harmonieren und Spaß an den Herausforderungen haben und behalten, mit den sie tagtäglich konfrontiert sind.

Weniger mag ich es, wenn uns Mitarbeiter verlassen.

Was ist das Besondere an deiner Rolle als CEO?

Dass es die Rolle des CEOs von IKARUS ist!

Was sind deiner Meinung nach gute Wege, um in der IT und/oder Cyber Security Branche Fuß zu fassen?

Je nach „Zielgebiet“ natürlich eine solide Ausbildung. Ansonsten ist es aufgrund des vorherrschenden Fachkräfte-Mangels schon nicht mehr allzu schwierig, erste Erfahrungen in diesem Umfeld zu sammeln. Man sollte nur nicht davon ausgehen, dass das, was man tut und tun möchte, sehr lange Bestand hat oder keinen Veränderungen unterworfen wäre.

Warum sollte sich jemand als dein/e neue/r Kolleg*in bewerben?

Weil er damit die Chance bekommt, in einem jungen internationalen Team Herausforderungen vorzufinden, die man hierzulande sonst nirgendwo mehr findet. Weil wir wirklich coole Sachen machen, Menschen helfen können und in vorderster Linie stehen, um Unternehmen und Menschen zu schützen.

Pionierarbeit seit 1986

Wie alles begann: Als Software-Unternehmen gegründet, führten ein Zufall und ein Hobby dazu, dass IKARUS sich bald auf Computersicherheit spezialisierte. IKARUS anti.virus war eines der ersten Antivirenprogramme weltweit, weitere spannende Entwicklungen und Projekte sollten folgen.

Join IKARUS!

OT Security Engineer
Support Engineer
IT Security Specialist
Cyber Threat Intelligence Analyst
Malware Analyst

WIR FREUEN UNS AUF SIE!

IKARUS Security Software GmbH
Blechturmgasse 11
1050 Wien

Telefon: +43 (0) 1 58995-0
Sales Hotline: +43 (0) 1 58995-500

SUPPORT-HOTLINE:

Support-Infoseite

Support-Hotline:
+43 (0) 1 58995-400

Support-Zeiten:
Mo bis Do: 8.00 – 17.00 Uhr
Fr: 8.00 – 15.00 Uhr

Fernwartung:
AnyDesk Download